About The Shops of Olde Marco
Business owners on the property created The Shops of Olde Marco to provide an integrated shopping, dining and lodging experience for both locals and visiting tourists. Live the island lifestyle at The Shops of Olde Marco and experience the historical district of Marco Island.
The history of Marco Island, specifically the lands on which The Shops of Olde Marco are located, is vast with many Calusa artifacts found in the area. The lands of The Shops of Olde Marco are where Calusa Indian grounds are known to have been located prior to Spanish sailing peers of Columbus and Ponce de Leon making the “Isle of Saint Mark” a port of embarkation for their return to the Old World.
Artesian springs were discovered on Marco Island and today Marco Island boasts some of the most beautiful sunsets.
The Olde Marco Inn and Suites originally opened with 20 sleeping rooms as Captain Bill Collier’s Inn, a registered historic landmark now that has grown from its 1883 origins. Now extinct, the Calusa left behind artifacts including Marco Island’s famous MARCO CAT and several ceremonial masks showcased today at the Smithsonian.
The Shops of Olde Marco offers a robust, memorable experiences for visitors with shopping for the body, mind and soul. The Collection shops on Marco Island includes female fashion stores, a gourmet food market, cupcakes and dessert bar, french bistro restaurant, an italian restaurant, fish market, breakfast and lunch on the promenade and holistic health services.
As Marco Island’s retail cornerstone, The Shops of Olde Marco are located in the Historical District, and our shops, restaurants and hotel promote an island lifestyle with colorful surroundings and beautiful sunsets. Our relaxing atmosphere on Marco Island reminds visitors that life can be relaxing, should be fun and it’s thriving on Marco Island.
The Shops of Olde Marco are the best shopping on Marco Island. It’s where people come to unplug, because families lose themselves in the destination’s relaxed atmosphere.